Uddhav Thackeray Invited For Kumaraswamy’s Swearing-In, Says No Politely

Uddhav Thackeray Invited For Kumaraswamy’s Swearing-In, Says No PolitelyUddhav Thackeray at Sena Bhavan. (Vijayanand Gupta/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Shiv Sena Chief Uddhav Thackeray has ‘politely declined’ to attend H D Kumaraswamy’s swearing-in ceremony, which the Congress has turned into a gathering of opposition leaders for a show of strength, Economic Times has reported.

According to the report, the invitation was extended by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda on Tuesday. Thackeray declined to attend the ceremony saying he is busy campaigning for the Palghar bypoll.

“Uddhavji politely declined and extended his best wishes to the new government," Shiv Sena Member of Parliament Sanjay Raut said. "Uddhavji told him he was very busy with the Palghar bypoll and hence, would not be able to attend the ceremony. These elections are very important for us," he added.

Congress President Rahul Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister (CM) Mamata Banerjee, former Uttar Pradesh CM Akhilesh Yadav, former Uttar Pradesh CM Mayawati, Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu, Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, Telangana CM K Chandrashekar Rao, Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal, former Bihar Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav, CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, Actor and Makkal Needhi Maiam president Kamal Haasan, Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh and former J&K CM Omar Abdullah are attending Kumaraswamy’s swearing-in.