Uttar Pradesh: BJP Wins Hamirpur Bypoll By Over 17,000 Votes; CM Yogi Congratulates Party Workers
Uttar Pradesh: BJP Wins Hamirpur Bypoll By Over 17,000 Votes; CM Yogi Congratulates Party WorkersBJP supporters at an election rally (Samir Jana/Hindustan Times via GettyImages) 

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Hamirpur Assembly by-poll in Uttar Pradesh, counting for which was held on Friday (27 September).

The Samajwadi Party (SP) came second while the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) came third and the Congress stood fourth in the by-election.

BJP’s Yuvraj Singh polled a total of 74,500 votes while Manoj Prajapati of SP got 57,300 votes. The BJP won the seat with a margin of over 17,000 votes.

Polling for this by-election was held on 23 September. The Hamirpur seat, which recorded 51 per cent voting, was vacated following the conviction of BJP MLA Ashok Kumar Chandel in a 22-year-old murder case in May this year.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has congratulated party workers for the victory and thanked the people of Hamirpur.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber