News Brief

BJP's Clean Sweep In Madhya Pradesh For The First Time, Congress Set To Lose Lone Seat Of Chhindwara

Nishtha Anushree

Jun 04, 2024, 12:09 PM | Updated 12:09 PM IST

Madhya Pradesh results
Madhya Pradesh results

In an unprecedented event, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is set to win all 29 Lok Sabha seats of Madhya Pradesh, with Congress set to lose the only seat of Chhindwara it won in the 2019 elections.

BJP's tally has been increasing in the state by one seat in every Lok Sabha election. It won 27 seats in 2014, 28 in 2019 and is set to win 29 seats in 2024.

Bunty Vivek Sahu is leading ahead of former CM Kamal Nath's son Nakul Nath by 45,000 votes. Former CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan is leading by 3.87 lakh votes in Vidisha.

The biggest victory margin in MP will be in Indore as the Congress candidate withdrew his nomination on the last day and joined the BJP.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.