News Brief

BJP's Om Birla Wins Lok Sabha Speaker Election, Defeats INDI Alliance's K Suresh

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 26, 2024, 11:36 AM | Updated 11:36 AM IST

PM Modi congratulating Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla
PM Modi congratulating Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla

NDA candidate and BJP MP Om Birla has been elected as the Lok Sabha Speaker once again.

Birla was poised to retain the Speaker’s post as the numbers were in favour of the ruling coalition.

Three-time BJP MP Birla won the election against Congress' K Suresh by a voice vote.

The election also saw a moment of rare bonhomie between the Opposition and the ruling side as Leader of the Opposition Rahul Gandhi walked up to Birla to congratulate him and also shook hands with Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

As the House applauded Birla on his election, the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kiren Rijiju escorted him to the Speaker's chair.

Prime Minister Modi today said that Birla’s experience of being a Speaker in the last term would help him guide the country further.

Congress-led INDI Alliance fielded K Suresh, who filed his nomination after the ruling party and Opposition failed to reach a consensus last evening.

However, the numbers were clearly on Birla's side. While the NDA candidate had the support of 297 MPs, the Opposition pick had 232.

Also Read: Wikileaks Founder Julian Assange Freed After Pleading Guilty To Espionage In US Court

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.