News Brief

Congress Navigates Internal Strife As 34 MLAs Excluded From Karnataka's Cabinet Gets Appointed To Key Roles In Boards And Corporations

Nayan Dwivedi

Jan 27, 2024, 12:45 PM | Updated 12:45 PM IST

CM Siddaramaiah
CM Siddaramaiah

Amid efforts to manage internal discontent within the Karnataka Congress, 34 MLAs who were excluded from the Cabinet last year have been appointed as chairpersons of various state boards and corporations.

The move is seen as an attempt to address differences within the state unit before the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

Notable appointments include S R Srinivas and K M Shivalingegowda, close associates of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, heading the Karnataka Road Transport Corporation and Karnataka Housing Board.

Other key appointments include N A Harris in charge of the Bengaluru Development Authority, H C Balakrishna overseeing the Karnataka Road Development Board, and Vinay Kulkarni leading the Karnataka Water Supply and Sewerage Board.

Also Read: "BJP Offered Rs 25 Crore, Election Ticket To MLAs To Break Away From AAP; Liquor Scam Conspiracy To Topple Government": Arvind Kejriwal

The strategy is seen as an attempt to strike a balance within the party ranks, especially among those left out of the Cabinet.

The Congress aims to win 20 out of the 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka, and these appointments are seen as a step to check resentment ahead of the polls.

Earlier, the Congress government was grappling with an internal discord as ministers were expressing dissatisfaction with the process of finalising appointments to various boards and corporations.

As reported, Home Minister G Parameshwara had voiced his discontent, stating that the appointments are being made without any consultation.

Also Read: Karnataka Congress Woes: Veteran Leader Shivashankarappa Backs BJP's BY Raghavendra, Commends His Work In Shivamogga

Nayan Dwivedi is Staff Writer at Swarajya.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.