News Brief

Final Phase Of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Voting Begins For 57 Seats Across Eight States, UTs

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 01, 2024, 07:44 AM | Updated 07:43 AM IST

Electronic Voting Machine
Electronic Voting Machine

The polling for 57 seats in the seventh and final phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 is underway across eight states and Union Territories.

The 57 Parliamentary constituencies where voting is underway in the final phase of Lok Sabha elections include 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and one in the Union Territory of Chandigarh.

Additionally, polling for remaining 42 Assembly constituencies of the Odisha State Legislative Assembly will also take place simultaneously

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI), over 900 candidates are in the fray in this phase of the Lok Sabha elections.

Over 10.06 crore electors, including 5.24 crore males and 4.82 crore females, are eligible to vote across 1.09 lakh polling stations in the third phase of the elections.

Several key candidates are contesting in the seventh phase, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Anurag Thakur, actress Kangana Ranaut, TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee, former Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, and former Punjab Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi.

The counting of votes will take place on 4 June.

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.