Karnataka Chief Minister Expands Cabinet But Keeps All Key Portfolios With Himself

Karnataka Chief Minister Expands Cabinet But Keeps All Key Portfolios With HimselfChief Minister B S Yediyurappa with the newly-inducted cabinet ministers.

Rejecting the demands from various turncoats for key portfolios, Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa has held on to most of them including Bangalore Development, Energy, Finance, Intelligence among others.

Four days after inducting 10 ‘rebel’ MLAs, who won the bypolls, into his cabinet, Yediyurappa allotted them portfolios, most of which were additional charges held by sitting ministers.

Former mining baron and Vijayanagar legislator Anand SIngh has the Food and Civil Supplies portfolio, Byrati Basavaraj gets Urban Development minus Bengaluru, Shrimant Patil got Textiles, Dr K Sudhakar of Chikaballapur and one-time close aide of former chief minister Siddharamaiah has been given Medical Education, while he is said to have aspired for Energy.

No demands for specific ministries were entertained except that of Ramesh Jarkiholi, who got the Water Resources portfolio that he had been demanding. This was a portfolio held by Congress’ troubleshooter D K Shivakumar earlier and hence one lobbied for intensely by Jarkiholi. Jarkiholi’s differences with Shivakumar eventually led to the fall of the Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress coalition.

While 10+3 was being said to be the initial formula as the Chief Minister was said to have strong demands from various BJP loyalists, Yediyurappa inducted only the turncoats, keeping the partymen waiting. Umesh Katti, C P Yogeshwar and Mahesh Kumatahalli who were said to be the three who would make it to the list, Katti’s name is said to be kept pending for the next round of induction. Kumatahalli has been made the Chairman of Mysore Sales International, a post which he has refused.

B C Patil too has expressed displeasure over the Forest portfolio and has sought a change. The cop-turned-actor-legislator was said to be seeking the Home portfolio. Attempts to convince him are said to have proven futile as he rushed to the Chief Minister’s residence demanding a more powerful ministry.

K Gopalaiah has been given the Small-Scale Industries and Sugar Ministry, K C Narayana Gowda gets Municipal Administration, Horticulture and Sericulture, Shrimanth Patil got Textiles, S T Somashekhar gets Co-operation Department. The high budget Urban Development Ministry, which most Bengaluru legislators are said to have been eyeing, has been given to Byrati Basavaraj. A Shivaram Hebbar got Labour, which was an additional charge held by S Suresh Kumar.


Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.