Karnataka: COVID Lockdown To Continue Till 21 June In 11 Districts With High Positivity Rate, Announces CM Yediyurappa

Karnataka: COVID Lockdown To Continue Till 21 June In 11 Districts With High Positivity Rate, Announces CM Yediyurappa

by IANS - Friday, June 11, 2021 08:13 AM IST
Karnataka: COVID Lockdown To Continue Till 21 June In 11 Districts With High Positivity Rate, Announces CM YediyurappaKarnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa

The Covid-induced lockdown would continue, till 21 June, in 11 districts where positivity rate continues to be high, Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yediyurappa said on Thursday (10 June).

"The extended lockdown will continue in districts which still have a high positivity rate," he told reporters after a meeting with ministers, health experts and officials.

The 11 districts where the lockdown will continue for another week from 14 June to 21 June are Bengaluru Rural, Belagavi, Chamarajanagar, Chikkamagalur, Dakshina Kannada, Davangere, Hassan, Kodagu, Mandya, Mysuru, and Shivamogga.

These districts have been registering over 15 per cent positive cases since the pandemic's second wave struck the state in early April.

"Lockdown will be partially relaxed till 21 June in the remaining 19 districts, including Bengaluru Urban and Managaluru where the positivity rate has declined substantially," said the Chief Minister.

The relaxation will allow autos and taxis to operate with two passengers in these 19 districts.

"Essential shopping will be allowed from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. Parks will be open for walking from 5-10 a.m. Street vendors can do business from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m.," said Yediyurappa.

All industries will be allowed to function with 50 per cent staff, while garment units will function with 30 per cent employees.

"Night curfew from 7 p.m. till 5 a.m. will be in place, while weekend curfew from Friday to Monday will be from 7 p.m. to 5 a.m.," he said.

The 19 districts where lockdown restrictions will be partially lifted from June 14 are: Bagalkot, Ballari, Bengaluru Urban, Bidar, Chikkaballapur, Chitradurga, Dharwad, Gadag, Haveri, Kalaburagi, Kolar, Koppal, Raichur, Ramanagar, Tumukur, Udupi, Uttara Kannada, Vijayapura, and Yadagir.

The decision to continue the lockdown for one more week in 11 districts and partially relax it in 20 other districts was taken on the advice of the state technical advisory committee of health experts.

"The Covid-induced restrictions, which have been in force since 27 April, will continue in the 11 districts to reduce the positivity rate below 5 per cent," an official told IANS here.

The Deputy Commissioners of these districts have been directed to take stringent action against violators of the lockdown.

"Covid appropriate behaviour should be strictly followed. If the situation improves, we can announce more relaxations," Yediyurappa added.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.