News Brief

Marine Lines To Mumbadevi: Maharashtra Legislative Council Approves Renaming Seven Stations On Mumbai Local Train Network

Swarajya Staff

Jul 09, 2024, 04:42 PM | Updated 04:42 PM IST

Marine Lines station
Marine Lines station

The Maharashtra legislative council has unanimously passed a resolution to rename seven stations on the Mumbai local train network as per a report by The New Indian Express.

This move has come in background of popular perception regarding English names of large number of stations on the Mumbai local train network as reflecting colonial mentality.

The Mahayuti government, which includes Shiv Sena led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, the BJP, and the NCP led by Deputy CM Ajit Pawar, will now submit the new names to the Union government for approval.

State Parliamentary Affairs Minister Chandrakant Patil moved the resolution, which was adopted unanimously.

The resolution proposes renaming Currey Road station to Lalbaug, Sandhurst Road to Dongri, Marine Lines to Mumbadevi, and Charni Road to Girgaon.

The renaming of Sandhurst Road will apply to both the Central and Harbour Lines.

Other stations to be renamed include Cotton Green to Kalachowki, Dockyard Road to Mazgaon, and King's Circle to Tirthankar Parswanath.

Notably, Mumbai has experienced similar changes before, such as the renaming of Victoria Terminus (VT) to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT) and Elphinstone Road to Prabhadevi, reflecting a trend toward culturally significant names for public spaces.

Meanwhile, Leader of the Opposition in the council, Ambadas Danve, questioned the renaming of the airport in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar city, currently called Aurangabad airport.

However, his request for a discussion was rejected by Deputy Chairperson Neelam Gorhe, who stated that the concerned minister could respond to his query later.

Previously, the Maharashtra government had renamed Aurangabad and Osmanabad districts in the Marathwada region to Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar and Dharashiv, respectively.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.