News Brief

Modi 3.0 Cabinet Has Six Former Chief Ministers, Nine New Faces: Here's All About Them

Swarajya Staff

Jun 10, 2024, 11:47 AM | Updated 11:47 AM IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (NOEL CELIS/AFP/Getty Images)
Prime Minister Narendra Modi. (NOEL CELIS/AFP/Getty Images)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi was sworn in on Sunday (9 June), along with 71 ministers of the new coalition government.

The oath taking ceremony took place on the lawns of Rashtrapati Bhavan with President Droupadi Murmu administering the oath of office to PM Modi, followed by Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah and Nitin Gadkari.

The new council includes 30 cabinet ministers, five ministers of state with independent charge, and 36 ministers of state. The new cabinet also includes six former chief ministers and nine new faces.

Portfolio allocations will be announced later.

Here's a list of all former chief ministers serving in the new cabinet:

1. Shivraj Singh Chouhan

Chouhan was the CM of Madhya Pradesh from 2020 to 2023 and previously from 2005 to 2018. He has also represented Budhni since 2006 to 2024 and previously from 1990 to 1991 as MLA in Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Chouhan has successfully contested the recent Lok Sabha election from Vidisha.

2. Rajnath Singh

Singh served briefly as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh from 2000 to 2002 and as a Cabinet Minister for Road Transport and Highways in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Government from 1999 to 2000 and as the Minister of Agriculture from 2003 to 2004.

He was the home minister in the first Modi ministry from 2014 to 2019 and later served as the defence minister in the second tenure of PM Modi.

3. H D Kumaraswamy

Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular) was the first leader from the BJP's allies in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) to take the oath. He has earlier served as chief minister of Karnataka.

4. Manohar Lal Khattar

Khattar was the BJP's first chief minister of Haryana after the party achieved majority of its own in Haryana assembly and went on to serve for a second term after allying with Dushyant Chautala's Jannayak Janta Party post 2019 Haryana Legislative Assembly election.

5. Sarbananada Sonowal

Sonowal had served as chief minister of Assam from 2016 to 2021. He also served as the cabinet minister of ports, shipping and waterways and cabinet minister of AYUSH in the last council and has represented Assam in Rajya Sabha since 2021.

6. Jitan Ram Manjhi

Manjhi, who is the founding president of Hindustani Awam Morcha, also served as Bihar chief minister from 20 May 2014 to 20 February 2015.

Manjhi is also new face to join the Union cabinet for the first time.

Along with them, the other new faces joining the government are Jayant Choudhary, Lalan Singh and Ram Mohan Naidu Kinjarapu.

The list also includes Chirag Paswan, Bandi Sanjay Kumar, Suresh Gopi and Sukanta Majumdar.

Additional names in the cabinet are Raksha Khadse, Ravneet Singh Bittu, Ajay Tamta, Jitin Prasada, Harsh Malhotra and Annapurna Devi. These members represent various political parties and regions across India.

Virendra Kumar, an eight-time MP and prominent Scheduled Castes face of the BJP, was also inducted into the government. He represents Madhya Pradesh's Tikamgarh reserved seat.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.