MP Bypolls: BJP Fields All 22 Former MLAs of Jyotiraditya Scindia Camp

MP Bypolls: BJP Fields All 22 Former MLAs of Jyotiraditya Scindia CampJyotiraditya Scindia (Facebook) 
  • The exit of these 22 MLAs had led to the eventual fall of the Kamal Nath government.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced a list of candidates for the bypolls being held for 28 seats in Madhya Pradesh.

The highlight of the list is that the BJP has given a ticket to all 22 MLAs who had left Congress in their support for Jyotiraditya Scindia, in his move and exit from Congress to the saffron party in March 2020.

The exit of these 22 MLAs had landed the Kamal Nath government in a storm and eventually a crash. Six months later, the loyalists from Scindia's camp dominate BJP's list for the bypolls.

In giving the 22 MLAs the chance to fight the Congress, the BJP has kept a promise made by Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

He had said that all MLAs leaving Congress will be made to contest in the polls under their new party -- the BJP.

The bypolls will be held on 3 November.

The list also includes six ministers from Congress who had walked out of the party to support Scindia in the historic move of joining a party co-founded by his grandmother.

The BJP has planned to strategically challenge the Congress in the bypoll by putting across to voters the atrocities under the latter's rule. Scindia himself is expected to lead the offensive on his former party, the BJP has claimed.


Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.