MP: Portfolios Allocated In Shivraj Cabinet After 11 Days; Scindia Camp Bags Good Share

MP: Portfolios Allocated In Shivraj Cabinet After 11 Days; Scindia Camp Bags Good Share

by IANS - Monday, July 13, 2020 01:39 PM IST
MP: Portfolios Allocated In Shivraj Cabinet After 11 Days; Scindia Camp Bags Good ShareMadhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. (Imtiyaz Khan/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

Chief Minister (CM) Shivraj Singh Chouhan on Monday (13 July) allocated portfolios to new ministers, eleven days after the expansion of the state council of ministers.

Predictably, the new star of the party Jyotiraditya Scindia managed to get key departments for his supporters. The 28 new ministers who joined the Chouhan cabinet on 2 July included 20 of the cabinet rank and eight ministers of state. The strength of the ministry is now 34, including four women.

Scindia's top loyalist Tulsi Silawat retained the water resources department. The others in the camp have been handed revenue, transport, health, women and child development, industries, food and civil supplies and public health engineering.

The original BJP claimants did manage to get significant departments like Home, Finance, Urban Administration, Public Works Department, Agriculture, Cooperatives, Higher and Technical Education, Mineral Resources, and Forest. Despite this, the original claimants still have some resentment. The grassroots worker has lost out to the new poster boys, said a local leader.

Five ministers -- three of the original BJP cadre and two of the Scindia camp -- were already working, and with the addition of 28 new ministers there is now a total of 33 ministers in the state with the Chief Minister.

Chief Minister Chouhan will hold all those departments which have not been allocated so far, including general administration, public relations, civil aviation, and Narmada Valley development.

Among the existing ministers, Narottam Mishra has retained his home portfolio and additionally got the Legislative affairs, but the Health Department has been taken away from him and given to Prabhuram Choudhary of the Scindia camp. Kamal Patel has retained Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare and Meena Singh gets the SC/ST welfare.

The list of ministers includes:

Narottam Mishra - Home, Jail, Parliamentary Affairs and Law.

Gopal Bhargava - Public Works, Cottage and Village Industries.

Tulsi Ram Silavat - Water Resources, Fisheries Welfare and Fisheries Development.

Vijay Shah - Forest.

Jagdish Deora - Commercial taxes, Finance, Planning Economic and Statistics.

Bisahu Lal Singh - Food Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection.

Yashodhara Raje Scindia - Sports and Youth Welfare, Technical Education Cell Development and Employment.

Bhupendra Singh - Urban Development and Housing.

Meena Singh Mandwe - Primitive Caste Welfare, Scheduled Caste Welfare.

Kamal Patel - Farmers Welfare and Agricultural Development.

Aidal Singh Kanshana - Public Health Engineering.

Govind Singh Rajput - Revenue, Transport.

Brijendra Pratap Singh - Mineral Resources, Labour.

Vishwas Sarang - Medical Education, Bhopal Gas Tragedy Relief and Rehabilitation.

Imarti Devi - Women and Child Development.

Prabhuram Chaudhary - Public Health and Family Welfare.

Mahendra Singh Sisodia - Panchayat and Rural Development.

Pradyuman Singh Tomar - Energy.

Prem Singh Patel - Animal Husbandry, Social Justice and Disabled Welfare.

Om Prakash Sakleva - Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises, Science and Technology.

Usha Thakur - Tourism, Culture, Spirituality.

Arvind Bhadoria - Cooperatives, Lake Service Management.

Mohan Yadav - Higher Education.

Hardeep Singh Dung - New and Renewable Energy, Environment.

Rajwardhan Singh Prem Singh Dattigaon - Industrial Policy and Investment Promotion.

Ministers of state include:

Bharat Singh Kushwah - Horticulture and Food Processing (Independent Charge), Narmada Valley Development.

Inder Singh Parmar - School Education (Independent Charge), General Administration.

Ramkhelavan Patel - Backward Class and Minority Welfare and Denotified Nomadic and Semi-Nomadic Caste Welfare (Independent Charge), Panchayat and Rural Development.

Ram Kishore (Nano) Kanware - AYUSH (Independent Charge), Water Resources.

Brijendra Singh Yadav - Public Health Engineering.

Giriraj Dandotia - Farmer Welfare and Agriculture Development.

Suresh Dhakad - PWD.

OPS Bhadauria - Urban administration and Development.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

Join our Telegram channel - no spam or links, only crisp analysis.
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.