News Brief

Nitish Kumar Set To Take Oath As Bihar Chief Minister For Ninth Time Today; BJP's Samrat Choudhary, Vijay Sinha To Be Sworn-In As Deputy CMs

Kuldeep Negi

Jan 28, 2024, 02:41 PM | Updated 02:41 PM IST

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha.
Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha.

JDU chief Nitish Kumar, who earlier today resigned as Bihar chief minister, is set to again take oath as CM again in the evening.

Kumar had on Sunday (28 January) submitted his resignation to Bihar Governor, saying that he had severed ties with 'Mahagathbandhan' (Grand Alliance).

Now, the JDU chief is set to stake claim for the CM's chair with support from BJP and HAM.

Also Read: Bihar's Political Chessboard: Here's How MLA Count For Each Party Stands After Nitish Kumar's Resignation As CM

According to an ANI report, Nitish is set to take oath of the office for ninth time at 5.00 pm today.

BJP state president Samrat Chaudhary and state party leader Vijay Sinha will take oath as the Deputy Chief Ministers.

Meanwhile, BJP national president J P Nadda will arrive in Bihar later in the day and will be received at the airport by Union Minister Nityanand Rai and former state party president and MP Sanjay Jaiswal.

Earlier, in his first reaction to the political turmoil after tendering his resignation letter to the Governor, Nitish Kumar said the state of affairs in the 'Mahagathbandhan' (grand alliance) formed one and a half years ago was 'not good'.

Also Read: Bihar: What Major Parties Said On Nitish Kumar's Switch

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.