News Brief

RAPIDX Corridor Viaduct Ready Over Railway Track At Brahmapuri In Meerut

Arun Kumar Das

May 12, 2023, 10:28 AM | Updated 10:28 AM IST

The viaduct of the RAPIDX.
The viaduct of the RAPIDX.

The viaduct of the RAPIDX corridor has been completed over the railway track at Brahmapuri in Meerut.

With the completion of viaduct, the RAPIDX corridor has successfully crossed the railway line at Brahmapuri, parallel to the Atul Maheshwari flyover (earlier Mewla Flyover).

The team of National Capital Region Transport Corporation (NCRTC) has installed this part of viaduct over the railway line with the help of launching gantry in just two and a half days.

The railway line is being crossed at a height of about 13 metres at this location by the RAPIDX viaduct. Two pillars were constructed at this point on both sides of the railway line for this purpose.

To prepare the viaduct on these two pillars, 10 segments have been launched and joined together by the launching gantry.

The length of this viaduct span built over the railway line is about 28 metres. This launching gantry is moving towards Brahmapuri Station by constructing the viaduct of India's first regional rail.

This viaduct will further go underground to reach Meerut Central underground station after crossing Brahmapuri Station.

Pre-cast technology is being used extensively in making the viaduct segments by NCRTC which ensures the best quality of construction with minimum time for construction work.

It is worth mentioning that more than 14,000 labourers and 1,100 engineers are working day and night in adverse weather conditions for the RRTS project at various construction sites. There is also provision of adequate arrangements at the entire construction site to prevent pollution.

In Meerut, the 21-km stretch from Meerut South to Modipuram, with 13 stations, will provide Meerut Metro's world-class transport service to local residents. Of the total 13 stations in Meerut, three are underground and the remaining 10 are elevated.

The elevated stations in Meerut are Meerut South, Partapur, Rithani, Shatabdi Nagar, Brahmapuri followed by MES Colony, Daurali, Meerut North, Modipuram and Modipuram Depot. There are three underground stations between Brahmapuri and MES Colony - Bhainsali, Meerut Central and Begumpul.

NCRTC is implementing India's first Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) which is a rail-based, high-speed, high-frequency regional commuter transit system.

It has a design speed of 180 kmph and an average speed of 100 kmph. Powered by electric traction, RRTS will serve as a green mode of transit in NCR. It aims to reduce green house gas emissions and pollution in the National Capital Region.

Arun Kumar Das is a senior journalist covering railways. He can be contacted at

Get Swarajya in your inbox.