News Brief

Voting On 49 Seats Of Six States, Two UTs: Rahul Gandhi, Smriti Irani, Chirag Paswan, Rajnath Singh In Fray

Nishtha Anushree

May 20, 2024, 07:30 AM | Updated May 19, 2024, 04:49 PM IST

Rajnath Singh campaigning in Telangana
Rajnath Singh campaigning in Telangana

49 Parliamentary Constituencies of eight States and Union Territories (UT) are going to vote in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections today (20 May).

Polling is concluding in Maharashtra and Jammu and Kashmir with voting on 13 seats and one seat respectively. Another UT Ladakh will also vote today.

Five seats of Bihar, three of Jharkhand, five of Odisha, 14 of Uttar Pradesh and seven seats of West Bengal will also vote today.

Key constituencies of this phase are Amethi, where Smriti Irani is looking to retain her seat and Rae Bareli, where Rahul Gandhi wants to win her mother Sonia Gandhi's seat.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh is contesting from Lucknow and Lok Janshakti Party (Ramvilas) chief Chirag Paswan from Hajipur.

Lalu Prasad Yadav's daughter Rohini Acharya is challenging incumbent BJP MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Saran. Another Union Minister Piyush Goyal is contesting in Mumbai North.

Controversial BJP leader Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh's son  Karan Bhushan Singh wants to win his father's seat Kaiserganj. Omar Abdullah is contesting in Baramulla.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.