20 Stations In South Central Railway Zone To Be Upgraded Under Amrit Bharat Scheme

by Amit Mishra - Jan 20, 2023 10:23 AM +05:30 IST
20 Stations In South Central Railway Zone To Be Upgraded Under Amrit Bharat SchemeAn Indian Railways train (Representative Image)

The South-Central Railway (SCR) has identified 20 railway stations that will be upgraded under the Amrit Bharat Station scheme.  

The selected stations include Karimnagar, Hi-tech city, Hafizpeta, Tandur, Vikarabad, Lingampalli, Parli Vaijnath, Zahirabad, Bidar, Bhadrachalam Road, Khammam, Madhira, Mahabubabad, Warangal, Manchiryal, Ramagundam, Peddapalli, Kazipet, Jangaon and Yadadri.

As part of this exercise, the SCR zone has issued request for proposal (RFP) for selection of technical consultant for preparing master plan, technical feasibility report, estimate, construction drawings, etc, for redevelopment of the 20 identified railway stations.

In Phase-I, three stations namely, Kazipet, Jangaon and Yadadri of Secunderbaad division will be taken up for redevelopment under the scheme.

The SCR is one of the zones of Indian Railways and predominantly serves Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Maharashtra and to a limited extent, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Madhya Pradesh. It has six divisions —Secunderbaad, Vijayawada, Guntakal, Guntur, Hyderabad and Nanded.

Amrit Bharat Station Scheme 

The Ministry of Railways, as part of its station redevelopment drive, has formulated a new scheme to modernise over 1,000 small stations over the coming years.

Under the Amrit Bharat Station scheme, stations will be equipped with facilities inspired by the mega-upgradation of marquee stations such as New Delhi and Ahmedabad, albeit at a lower cost.

The scheme aims at preparation of master plans of the railway stations and implementation of the master plan in phases to enhance the facilities including and beyond the minimum essential amenities (MEA) and aiming for creation of roof plazas and city centres at the station in long run.

Scale of amenities and facilities to be provided shall be finalised based on the broad guiding principles of the scheme, footfall at the station, stakeholder consultations including end-users and local authorities and with approval of divisional railway manager (DRM).

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.