Tamil Nadu: AIADMK Alliance Twice And DMK Alliance Once; This Is How Erode East Voted In The Past

Tamil Nadu: AIADMK Alliance Twice And DMK Led Alliance Once; This Is How Erode East Voted In The Past

by S Rajesh - Monday, February 27, 2023 03:26 PM IST
Tamil Nadu: AIADMK Alliance Twice And DMK Led Alliance Once; This Is How Erode East Voted In The PastErode East Bypoll
  • Out of the three elections previously held in the constituency, the AIADMK alliance has won two, i.e., in 2011 and 2016. The constituency is part of the Kongu region, which has been favourable to the AIADMK.

A bypoll is being held today (27 February) in the Erode East Assembly constituency, due to the death of the sitting MLA Thirumahan Evera.

Evera, who was from the Congress, had won the constituency in the 2021 Assembly elections as the candidate of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) led alliance.

The main candidates in the bypoll are EVKS Elangovan of the Congress (the father of Evera), and KS Thennarasu of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK).

According to political commentators, bypolls in the state have mostly been won by the ruling party.

Electoral History

Erode East has seen three assembly elections before this bypoll, i.e., 2011, 2016 and 2021. Prior to 2011, it was part of the Erode Assembly constituency.

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) alliance emerged victorious in 2011 and 2016.

While the 2011 election was won by VC Chandhirakumar of the Desiya Dravida Murpokku Kazhagam (DMDK), which was an ally of the AIADMK then, the 2016 election was won by KS Thennarasu of the AIADMK.

In 2021, Evera won against Yuvaraja M, of the Tamil Maanila Congress (TMC) who contested on behalf of the AIADMK-led alliance.

What Does The Vote Share Data Tell Us?

An analysis of the vote share data tells us that all elections in the constituency have been closely fought as the difference between the winner and runner-up has never been more than 8 per cent.

In 2011, the difference was 7.82 per cent, followed by 5.26 per cent in 2016 and 5.86 per cent in 2021.

2011 was the year in which the AIADMK won a record 203 seats under J Jayalalitha. In 2016, the AIADMK retained power in the state.

The difference in the number of votes received by the winner and runner-up was 10644 in 2011, followed by 7794 in 2016 and 8904 in 2021.

Performance Of Smaller Parties

Among the smaller parties, Kamal Haasan's Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) and Seeman's Naam Tamilar Katchi (NTK) were able to get a sizeable vote share, i.e., 6.98 per cent and 7.65 per cent respectively in the 2021 elections.

While the NTK is going alone once again, the MNM is supporting the Congress candidate, Elangovan.

The DMDK of Captain Vijayakanth is also contesting alone this time. The last time it contested alone, i.e., in 2016, it had garnered a vote share of 4.58 per cent.

The Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) and Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) of TTV Dhinakaran are not supporting any candidate.

Role of the BJP

The BJP has contested the seat twice, when it was not in an alliance with the AIADMK. In 2011, it had a vote share of 2.38 per cent and in 2016, it improved it to 3.75 per cent.

However, its contribution to the vote share of the alliance is expected to be more now, given the rising stature of the party under the leadership of state president K Annamalai.

The BJP had won the Modakurichi constituency (one of the adjoining constituencies) in the 2021 Assembly elections in alliance with the AIADMK.

Also Read: Looking Back At The Highlights Of The Campaign As The Erode East Constituency Goes To Polls

S Rajesh is Staff Writer at Swarajya.
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.