IRCTC Reduces Fare For Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train To Draw More Passengers

Arun Kumar Das

Jul 29, 2023, 10:39 AM | Updated 10:42 AM IST

IRCTC Special Train
IRCTC Special Train

With the aim of attracting more tourists, IRCTC has decided to reduce the fare of the Buddhist Cicuit Tourist train for the season 2023-24.

IRCTC is offering a special upfront discount of 20 per cent on the published tariff for the domestic tourists (including NRI, OCI and PIO) for the Buddhist Special Train slated for departures on 21 October 2023, 4 November 2023 and 16 December 2023.

The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train will go to destinations associated with Lord Buddha and Buddhism such as Bodhgaya, Nalanda (Rajgir), Varanasi (Sarnath), Lumbini, Kushinagar and Sravasti in its 7 nights / 8 days journey.

Equipped with an exquisite fully air-conditioned deluxe tourist train comprising of 12 state-of-the-art ergonomically designed LHB coaches and with an option of travelling in AC First Class coaches or AC-2 Tier equipped with modern amenities and facilities.

The train has a fully equipped kitchen car which serves an array of specialty international and local cuisines for the on-board guests. The train also has two aesthetically designed dining cars with the capacity for each passenger to dine together.

IRCTC, the tourism and hospitality arm of Indian Railways is the largest tourist train operator in the country catering to diverse tourism segments in the inbound and domestic market.

The company has established a place for itself in the religious tourism market by operating tourist train packages for tourists of different beliefs and faiths. One such feather in the crown of IRCTC is its Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train which has in operation for the last 16 years.

With the aim to promote the world famous Buddhist Circuit in India as well as abroad in order to enable the tourists from within the country as well as different parts of the world to visit the important destinations connected to the life of Lord Buddha and Buddhism, IRCTC started the operation of the Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train in 2007.

The Buddhist Circuit Tourist Train will start from Safdarjung station covering the world famous destinations associated with Lord Buddha and Buddhism and the journey ends with a visit to world famous Taj Mahal also one of the seven wonders of the world.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.