Railways Plans Four More Bullet Train Corridors, Includes Hyderabad - Bangalore And Nagpur - Varanasi Routes

by India Infrahub - Jan 2, 2022 06:07 PM +05:30 IST
Railways Plans Four More Bullet Train Corridors, Includes Hyderabad - Bangalore And Nagpur - Varanasi RoutesA bullet train (Photo via NHRSCL Website)

The Indian Railways plans to add four more high-speed rail corridors to the National Rail Plan in addition to the presently planned eight corridors.

The proposed eight corridors include Mumbai - Surat - Vadodara - Ahmedabad, Delhi - Noida - Agra - Kanpur - Lucknow - Varanasi, Delhi - Jaipur - Udaipur - Ahmedabad, Mumbai - Nasik - Nagpur, Mumbai - Pune - Hyderabad, Chennai - Bangalore - Mysore, Delhi - Chandigarh - Ludhiana - Jalandhar - Amritsar, Varanasi - Patna - Howrah.

A railway source told The New Indian Express that the 618 km long Hyderabad - Bangalore, 855 km long Nagpur - Varanasi, 850 km long Patna - Guwahati and 190 km long Amritsar - Pathankot - Jammu high-speed rail corridors are likely to be proposed under the National Rail Plan in 2022.

Currently, only the Mumbai – Ahmedabad High-Speed Rail (MAHSR) project is under construction.

MAHSR project is a 508 km long first High-Speed Rail (HSR) network under execution in India. Out of 508 km, 352 km lies in Gujarat (348 km), and Dadra and Nagar Haveli (four km) and balance 156 km lies in Maharashtra.

The construction work is in progress in Gujarat and Dadra & Nagar Haveli, where 98 per cent and 100 per cent land has been acquired, respectively. In Maharashtra, land acquisition done so far is 40 per cent.

Also, Detailed Project reports (DPRs) are being prepared on the approved Delhi - Varanasi, Delhi - Ahmedabad, Mumbai - Nagpur, Delhi - Amritsar, Mumbai - Hyderabad and Chennai - Mysore corridors.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.