15 OTT Platforms Including Netflix And Amazon Prime Video Sign Self-Regulation Code

Swarajya Staff

Sep 05, 2020, 11:20 AM | Updated 11:20 AM IST

Netflix has credited high member satisfaction for this rapid growth. 
Netflix has credited high member satisfaction for this rapid growth. 

Leading domestic and international over the top (OTT) content providers, also called online curated content providers (OCCPs), operating in India have adopted an ombudsman based self-regulation model to address grievances of the users and viewers, reports Economic Times.

In total, 15 OCCPs have signed into the self-regulation pact. These include Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, Disney Hotstar, Jio Cinema, Zee5, Viacom18, MX Player, Alt Balaji, Arre, Eros Now, HoiChoi, Hungama, Shemaroo, Discovery Plus and Flickstree.

This comes as a significant development given there had for long been a demand from various quarters about the need for regulation of the content streamed and hosted by various OCCPs.

The code came into effect from 15 August itself, and it allows all the signatory OCCPs to comply with various content regulation guidelines in a time-bound manner. Each signatory to the pact titled 'Universal Self-Regulation Code' will appoint an external advisor as part of the grievance redressal mechanism within 60 days from 4 September.

The code includes a framework for age classification, content descriptions for various titles, and also access control tools. As a signatory to the code, each platform will also be establishing a Consumer Complaints Department and/or an internal committee along with an advisory panel which will deal with complaints, appeals and escalations of all kinds.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.