2019 Lok Sabha Elections: More Than 14 Crore Voters To Decide Fate Of 1279 Candidates In 20 States And UTs Today

Polling officials checking the EVMS and other necessary inputs required for the General Elections-2019, at the distribution centre, at Gaya, in Bihar on 10 April 2019 (Photo Via PIB)

The polling for the 2019 general elections have begun from today (11 April). As many as 91 Lok Sabha constituencies from 20 states and union territories will go for the polls in the first phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha polls, according to an official statement released on Wednesday (10 April).

More than 14 crore voters will decide the fate of 1279 candidates of the 91 Lok Sabha constituencies across the country, added the statement. The Election Commission has set up more than 1.7 lakh polling booths across 20 States and union territories.

Voting will take place for all the parliamentary constituencies in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Uttarakhand, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Telangana in the first phase of the general elections.

The other states going to polls in the first phase include - Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal. In these states, votes will be cast for some of the constituencies in the first phase of general elections.


Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber