BJP Scripts History In Bengal Assembly By-Polls, Gets More Seats And Vote Share Than Mamata’s TMCAmit Shah and Narendra Modi

BJP’s electoral success in West Bengal has gone beyond the Lok Sabha 2019 results in which the party won a record 18 seats while Trinamool’s tally came down from 34 to 22.

In the assembly by-polls which were held held for eight seats, BJP outdid Trinamool by winning four seats while Mamata Banerjee’s party won three seats. A solitary seat was won by the Congress.

The BJP also surpassed the vote share tally of Trinamool by winning 40.05 per cent of the vote while the latter got 37.04 per cent.

One of the most notable incidents of the assembly by-polls was the defeat of Mamata’s close aide Madan Mitra who lost to BJP’s Pawan Kumar Singh in Bhatpara by a margin of over 23,000 votes.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber