BJP's Selvaganapathy Set To Become Party's First MP From PuducherryS Selvaganapathy

BJP leader and former Puducherry legislator S Selvaganapathy will become the party's first MP from the Union Territory as he is set to be elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha.

Accompanied by Chief Minister N Rangasamy, and Home Minister A Namassivayam who proposed his candidature, Selvaganabathy on Wednesday filed his nomination with Assembly Secretary, R Mounissamy, an hour before the deadline.

The opposition DMK-Congress has not put a candidate.

Scrutiny will take place on Thursday and the last date for withdrawal is 27 September. After the withdrawal period is over, he will be declared elected.

The tenure of sitting MP N Gokulakrishnan of the AIADMK, ends on 6 October.

The announcement of Selvaganpathy's nomination for Rajya Sabha candidature was made by BJP national general secretary Arun Singh on Tuesday (21 September) night.

The decision was taken after back-to-back talks between the BJP Central leadership, UT Home Minister A Namassivayam and Chief Minister N Rangasamy for the last two days.

Selvaganapathy was nominated to the Assembly by the Centre in 2018 and his term ended in the 14th Assembly.

(With inputs from IANS)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber