#ByPolls2019: Uttar Pradesh Trends Show BJP Lead In 7 Seats, SP In 2, Congress and BSP In 1 Each BJP Flags (Representative Image)

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is now leading in seven Assembly seats, Samajwadi Party (SP) in two and Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) and the Congress in one each.

The BJP is leading in Iglas, Manikpur, Balha, Lucknow Cantt, Govind Nagar, Ghosi and in Pratapgarh which is being contested by BJP alliance partner the Apna Dal.

The BJP, at present, seems to be losing two seats in the bypolls.

The SP is leading in Rampur and Zaidpur. It's lead in Rampur is being seen as the personal victory for SP MP Azam Khan who has cashed in on the sympathy wave that built up in his favour after the local administration lodged 84 criminal cases against him in the past two months.

The BSP is managing to hold on to its Jalalpur seat and has lost the lead it had in Iglas in the initial rounds. The party is trailing at the fourth position in Lucknow Cantt. and Rampur.

For the Congress, the bypoll has brought some hope. The party is leading in Gangoh and has managed to rank at the second position in Govind Nagar and Pratapgarh Assembly seats.

(This story has been published from a wire agency feed without modifications to the text. Only the headline has been changed.)

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber