#Maharashtra2019: Fadnavis Set To Return As CM, Leads From Nagpur South West, Aditya Thackeray Ahead From Worli 

Swarajya Staff

Oct 24, 2019, 11:49 AM | Updated 11:49 AM IST

Devendra Fadnavis/Facebook 
Devendra Fadnavis/Facebook 

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis is set to begin his second term in CM Office as he leads by 8,398 votes in the third round of counting from Nagpur South West constituency against Congress’ Ashish Deshmukh, according to news agency ANI.

As the counting of votes progressed in the 21 October Maharashtra Assembly elections, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance looked comfortable in retaining the power in states. At the time of publishing this report, it was leading on 168 seats, while the Congress-NCP combine had taken lead on 91 seats.

Shiv Sena’s Aditya Thackeray, who is the first of his family to enter the electoral arena, is also leading by over 7,000 votes from Worli constituency in south-central Mumbai. He is fighting against NCP’s Suresh Mane, Business Today reported.

Counting of votes had begun at 8 am on Thursday (24 October) for all the 288 assembly seats in Maharashtra, where a total of 3,239 candidates were in the electoral fray.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.