MP: Total 22 Congress MLAs Tender Resignation, SP And BSP MLAs Also In Touch With BJPMadhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath. (Mujeeb Faruqui/Hindustan Times via GettyImages) 

A total of 22 Congress MLAs have tendered their resignation in Madhya Pradesh, thereby reducing the party’s tally from 114 to 91, ANI has reported.

The latest to resign is Hatpipliya MLA Manoj Choudhary.

These resignations of lawmakers loyal to Jyotiraditya Scindia were a result of a ripple effect caused by the latter’s resignation from the party earlier in the day.

Matters though continue to get worse for the Congress in the state after both the SP and BSP MLAs in the state are said to be in touch with the BJP. These three MLAs had lent support to the Kamal Nath government since its inception. These MLAs were also captured reaching the residence of former chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

If true, it will mean that the number of Congress+ lawmakers in the state will come down from 121 to just 95. The majority mark has correspondingly come down to 102 with the BJP on its own having 107 MLAs.


An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber