PM Modi Stresses "BJP's Commitment To Karnataka's Progress" In Open Letter To State Day Before Election
PM Modi Stresses "BJP's Commitment To Karnataka's Progress" In Open Letter To State Day Before ElectionPrime Minister Narendra Modi during his roadshow in Bengaluru on 6 May (Photo: Narendra Modi/Twitter)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has written an open letter to the people of Karnataka. It was shared on his Twitter account on Tuesday (9 May), just a day before the state assembly election.

Karnataka votes on 10 May as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) seeks to overcome a 38-year-old anti-incumbency trend and secure another term in power.

PM Modi opens the letter by saying, "You have always showered me with love and affection. It feels like a divine blessing to me."

"In our 'Azaadi ka Amrit Kaal', we Indians have aimed to make our beloved country a developed nation. Karnataka is keen to lead the movement to realise its vision," the letter says.

"India is the fifth-largest economy. Our next aim is to reach the top three. This is possible only when Karnataka rapidly grows to become a $1 trillion economy," it says further.

In his letter, PM Modi emphasised his party's commitment to Karnataka and its people.

"We want to make Karnataka the Number 1 in Investment, Industry and Innovation. We want to make Karnataka the Number 1 in Education, Employment and Entrepreneurship," the PM wrote.

He assured the people that the BJP government will focus on improving rural and urban infrastructure, transportation, and job creation in Karnataka.

The priority will be given to creating next-generation urban infrastructure, upgrading transportation, improving the quality of life of both the rural and urban population, and providing ample opportunities to women and young people, the letter said.

"The dream of every citizen of Karnataka is my dream," the PM wrote.

The Prime Minister's 26-km roadshow in Bengaluru on Saturday (6 May) was a part of the BJP's assertive campaign to combat the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular), and their respective heavyweight leaders D K Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah, and H D Kumaraswamy, who pose a significant challenge in the state.

The BJP, Congress, and JD(S) have fielded 224, 223, and 207 candidates, respectively, for the 224-seat Karnataka Assembly.

Voting starts Wednesday and the counting of votes will take place on 13 May.

"I sincerely appeal that you exercise your franchise on the 10th of May to make Karnataka the Number 1 state," PM Modi said in his letter.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber