Tamil Nadu Assembly Polls 2021: BJP Inks Seat-Sharing Deal With AIADMK, To Contest On 20 Seats

Swarajya Staff

Mar 06, 2021, 08:13 AM | Updated 08:13 AM IST

PM Modi with TN CM E Palaniswami. (Pic via Twitter)
PM Modi with TN CM E Palaniswami. (Pic via Twitter)

The Bharatiya Janata Party and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) on Friday (5 March) sealed a deal on seat sharing agreement for the upcoming state assembly polls in Tamil Nadu after several round of talks between the top leadership of the parties.

During his recent visit to Tamil Nadu, Union Home Minister Amit Shah had discussed the seat-sharing formula with the AIADMK leadership. Polls for the 234-seats Tamil Nadu assembly are scheduled on 6 April.

According to the seat-sharing deal, BJP will field 20 candidates in the upcoming state Assembly elections. Besides, the party has also been alloted the Kanyakumari Lok Sabha seat, bypoll for which will be held on 6 April.

The vacancy on Kanniyakumari Lok Sabha seat was caused by the death of Congress MP H Vasanthakumar.

The seat-sharing agreement was signed by AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam, and co-coordinator Edappadi K Palaniswami, and BJP national general secretary and state in-charge C T Ravi, and Tamil Nadu BJP chief L Murugan, reports Times of India.

The deal was reportedly delayed due to a purported disagreement over sharing of some constituencies in the western belt, particularly in Coimbatore district, between both the parties.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.