Tamil Nadu  Elections: Chief Minister Palaniswami Leading By Nearly 20,000 Votes In His  Edappadi Constituency Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections

The incumbent Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu Edappadi K Palaniswami is leading in his constituency Edappadi by nearly 20,000 votes after the sixth round of counting. The latest data released by the Election commission shows that the four-time MLA has garnered 30169 votes as compared to 10,266 votes received by his DMK rival T Sambathkumar.

The counting of votes for the 234-member Legislative Assembly in Tamil Nadu began at 8 am on Sunday amidst strict Covid protocol.

A party would require at least 118 seats to win the election. The E Palaniswami-led AIADMK, who has allied with BJP, seeks to retain power for the third time in a row but faces a stiff challenge from M K Stalin-led DMK.

The MK Stalin-led DMK alliance in Tamil Nadu seems to be edging ahead in a closely fought contest in the Tamil Nadu assembly elections.

The party and its allies, including the Congress, are leading in at least 137 seats, while the ruling AIADMK is ahead in 95 seats, reports Indian Express.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber