Trinamool On Course For Clean Sweep In Bengal Bypolls; BJP Retains Pithoragarh In Uttarakhand
Trinamool On Course For Clean Sweep In Bengal Bypolls; BJP Retains Pithoragarh In UttarakhandMamata Banerjee, the chief minister of West Bengal and head of the Trinamool Congress (DIBYANGSHU SARKAR/AFP/Getty Images)

Results of the bypolls today (27 November) in three assembly seats of West Bengal have almost handed the ruling Trinamool party in the state a clean sweep, with its candidates Tapan Deb Singha and Pradip Sarkar winning in Kaliaganj and Kharagpur Sadar.

Its third candidate Bimalendu Sinha Roy has gained a comfortable lead of 24,119 votes in Karimpur, and he is likely to pick up the state. The results are disappointing for the BJP which had just six months ago surprised political pundits with an unexpectedly strong performance in West Bengal in the Lok Sabha polls.

The one respite for the party today is that its candidate Chandra Pant has emerged the winner in the Pithoragarh assembly seat of Uttarakhand, edging out Anju Lunthi of the Congress.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber