Two More Congress Wickets Fall In Karnataka As MLAs M T B Nagaraj And K Sudhakar Tender Their ResignationKarnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy (Burhaan Kinu/Hindustan Times via Getty Images) 

Woes of the Congress party in Karnataka don’t seem to be ending as two more party MLAs tendered their resignation to the assembly speaker today afternoon (10 July), Deccan Herald has reported.

The two MLAs M T B Nagaraj And K Sudhakar representing the Hoskote and Chikkaballapur assembly constituencies respectively, together went to the speaker K R Ramesh Kumar’s office to tender their resignation.

Both the MLAs had earlier criticised Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy for neglecting developmental works in their constituency.

These resignations have taken the total number of rebel Congress-JD(S) to 16, thus leaving no doubt that as things stand, the state government does not have the required majority numbers.

This comes at a time when party troubleshooter D K Shivakumar has flown down to Mumbai in an attempt to meet and pacify 10 Congress-JD(S) rebel MLAs residing at a hotel in Powai. He has since then been detained by the police.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber