Yeddyurappa Takes Oath As Chief Minister Of Karnataka For The Third Time
Yeddyurappa Takes Oath As Chief Minister Of Karnataka For The Third TimeB S Yeddyurappa with Vajubhai Vala (BJP/Periscope)

The Governor of Karnataka Vajubhai Vala today (15 May) administered the oath of office and oath of secrecy to Bharatiya Janatha Party (BJP) leader B S Yeddyurappa at Raj Bhavan in the state capital of Bengaluru. Yeddyurappa has 15 days to prove his majority on the floor of the house.

Yeddyurappa alone was sworn in with top BJP leaders including Prakash Javadekar present at the venue. This is his third term as the Chief Minister of Karnataka – twice in 2008, first for seven days, then for 3 years till he was asked to step down over allegations of being involved in an iron ore mining scam.

Legislators of the Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) who had been sent to the Eagleton Resort in Bidadi to prevent defection have decided to protest outside the Vidhana Soudha.

The Supreme Court had a few hours ago refused to stay Yeddyurappa’s swearing in and has said that it will hear the Congress’ plea on Friday (18 May).

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber