News Brief

Andhra Pradesh: Chandrababu Naidu Takes Oath As Chief Minister In PM Modi's Presence

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 12, 2024, 12:41 PM | Updated 12:43 PM IST

Andhra CM Naidu with Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Andhra CM Naidu with Prime Minister Narendra Modi

TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the fourth time today (12 June), following the NDA's resounding victory in the Assembly polls that were held simultaneously with the general election.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP chief and Health Minister JP Nadda also attended the grand event held on the outskirts of Vijayawada. 

The Prime Minister congratulated Naidu with a hug after he took the oath. 

The swearing-in ceremony saw twenty-four members of his cabinet also taking the oath.

Jana Sena chief Pawan Kalyan also took the oath and is expected to assume the role of Deputy Chief Minister.

Jana Sena, an ally of the NDA, won 21 seats in the Assembly polls.

Nara Lokesh, TDP leader and son of Naidu, joined others in taking the oath of office.

Naidu's TDP is a crucial ally whose support was instrumental in enabling the BJP to form the government at the Centre, despite falling short of the majority mark of 272.

The NDA alliance, consisting of TDP, Jana Sena, and BJP, secured an impressive 164 seats in the 175-member Assembly.

The alliance also dominated the Lok Sabha elections, winning 21 of Andhra Pradesh's 25 seats and significantly weakening the incumbent YSR Congress Party.

Also Read: Reasi, Kathua, Doda: What We Know So Far About The String Of Terror Attacks In Jammu Region

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.