News Brief

Chandrababu Naidu Set To Take Oath As Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister For Fourth Time, Here's All About Ceremony

Swarajya Staff

Jun 11, 2024, 08:29 PM | Updated 08:29 PM IST

Former Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu (Pic Via Twitter)
Former Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu (Pic Via Twitter)

Nara Chandrababu Naidu, who has carried the Telugu Desam Party (TDP)-led alliance to a decisive victory in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections, will now be sworn in as the chief minister of the southern state on Wednesday (12 June).

Naidu met Andhra Pradesh governor S Abdul Nazeer at the Raj Bhavan in Vijaywada on Tuesday to formally stake his claim to form the government.

He was accompanied by his party allies, Janasena Party chief Pawan Kalyan and BJP state president Daggubati Purandeswari.

"All MLAs of the BJP, Janasena, and TDP have given their consent for me to become Andhra Pradesh's upcoming Chief Minister of the NDA government," Naidu stated following a meeting of NDA legislators.

In 2014, Naidu became the first chief minister of the bifurcated Andhra Pradesh and served until 2019. After losing the 2019 elections, he remained the opposition leader until 2024.

Now, Chandrababu Naidu will be sworn in as the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh for the fourth time in his political career.

Chandrababu Naidu will take the oath of office as chief minister on Wednesday, June 12, at 11:27 am at Kesarapalli IT Park near Gannavaram Airport on the outskirts of Vijayawada.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and several top dignitaries are expected to attend Naidu's swearing-in ceremony.

"JP Nadda ji and Amit Shah ji are arriving today. Soon after landing here, they will head to Chandrababu Naidu's residence, where discussions on numbers and portfolios will be decided," Andhra Pradesh's BJP president D Purandeswari has stated.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.