News Brief

Final Phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Nearly 50 Per Cent Voter Turnout Across Eight States and UTs As Polls Near Close

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 01, 2024, 05:38 PM | Updated 05:38 PM IST

Pic Via Election Commission
Pic Via Election Commission

The seventh and final phase of the voting for the Lok Sabha elections 2024 is ongoing across 57 Parliamentary constituencies in eight states and UTs on Saturday (1 June).

The 57 Parliamentary constituencies where voting is underway in the final phase of Lok Sabha elections include 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine in West Bengal, eight in Bihar, six in Odisha, four in Himachal Pradesh, three in Jharkhand and one in the Union Territory of Chandigarh.

As of 5.00 pm, 49.68 per cent voter turnout was recorded across eight states and UTs participating in the ongoing Lok Sabha elections, according to the latest Election Commission data.

In Bihar, the voter participation stands at 42.95 per cent, while Chandigarh recorded a turnout of 52.61 per cent.

Himachal Pradesh saw a turnout of 58.41 per cent, while Jharkhand registered 60.14 per cent voting.

In Odisha, 49.77 per cent voters have cast their votes, while in Punjab, 46.38 per cent voter participation was recorded.

Uttar Pradesh reported a turnout of 46.83 per cent, while West Bengal saw a voter turnout of 58.46 per cent till 5.00 pm.

Also Read: India's FY24 Fiscal Deficit Benefits From Strong Revenue And Expenditure Management: Here's All About It

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.