News Brief

Lok Sabha Election Results 2024: Setback For NDA In Maharashtra As INDI Alliance Races Ahead

Kuldeep Negi

Jun 04, 2024, 03:04 PM | Updated 03:04 PM IST

Maharashtra Lok Sabha election results 2024
Maharashtra Lok Sabha election results 2024

In a major setback for Mahayuti in Maharashtra, the ruling alliance is leading on 18 of the 48 seats in the state.

Meanwhile, the Opposition Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) alliance is ahead on 28 seats.

The Mahayuti alliance comprises of the BJP, Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party and Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (RSP).

The Maha Vikas Aghadi comprises of the Indian National Congress, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) (Shiv Sena-UBT), and the Nationalist Congress Party (Sharadchandra Pawar) (NCP–SP).

Overall, the INDI Alliance has gained lead in 29 seats - Congress in 11, Uddhav Thackeray's Shiv Sena in 11, and Sharad Pawar's NCP in 7.

The NDA has a total of 18 seats leading — BJP with 12, Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena with 5, and Ajit Pawar's NCP with 1 seat.

In 2014, the BJP won a majority in Maharashtra with 23 seats, followed by the then undivided Shiv Sena winning 18 and NCP winning 4. In 2019, the NDA won a majority yet again with 41 seats. 

With 48 Parliamentary seats, Maharashtra is second to just Uttar Pradesh which has 80.

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.