News Brief

Nitish Kumar Takes Oath As Bihar CM For Ninth Time With BJP's Support

Kuldeep Negi

Jan 28, 2024, 05:15 PM | Updated 05:40 PM IST

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar.
Bihar CM Nitish Kumar.

JDU Chief Nitish Kumar was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Bihar for ninth time on Sunday (28 January).

Kumar was administered the oath of the office by Bihar Governor Rajendra Arlenkar at a ceremony at Raj Bhavan.

BJP state president Samrat Choudhary and party leader Vijay Sinha were sworn-in as Cabinet ministers during the oath-taking ceremony.

Further, six other MLAs from BJP, JDU and Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) and an independent legislator were inducted in the new Nitish Kumar cabinet during the event.

BJP national president J P Nadda, Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) president Chirag Paswan and other leaders were also present during the event.

Ahead of the oath-taking ceremony, "Modi-Modi" slogan were raised inside the Raj Bhavan.

Earlier in the day, Kumar submitted his resignation to the Governor, informing him that his party had severed ties with the Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) in the state.

Kumar also staked claim to form the government again with the support of BJP and HAM.

This came as a major setback for the anti-BJP INDI Alliance as the Nitish-led JDU, which was a key partner in the Opposition bloc, has now joined the BJP-led NDA.

Kuldeep is Senior Editor (Newsroom) at Swarajya. He tweets at @kaydnegi.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.