News Brief

Odisha Exit Polls: My Axis India Predicts BJP's Landslide With BJD Being Distinct Second

Bhuvan Krishna

Jun 01, 2024, 10:03 PM | Updated 10:17 PM IST

Odisha exit polls
Odisha exit polls
  • The Congress may not win any seats in the state. 
  • In what seems to be a signal for major political shake up in the eastern coastal state, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is projected to win 15 to 17 seats in Odisha in the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections as per India TV-CNX Exit Poll.

    The ruling Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD) dispensation is expected to secure four to six seats.

    The Congress may not win any seats in the state.

    In the same vein, Axis My India exit poll has predicted a landslide grab for BJP with 18-20 seats while BJD seems to become a distant second with BJD set to win 0-2 seats.

    In exit poll predictions by Jann Ki Baat, BJP is predicted to get 15-18 seats while BJD will get 7-3 seats. Congress is expected to register dismal performance in this prediction as well.

    Odisha has a total of 21 Lok Sabha seats, and the BJP is anticipated to perform well in the majority of them.

    In the 2019 general elections, Naveen Patnaik-led BJD was the major victor sweeping 12 seats out of a total of 21. The BJP was the second-best party with eight seats. The Congress, on the other hand, won only one seat.

    In yet earlier elections of 2014, BJD had won a clean sweep of 20 seats in the General elections, whereas BJP had won mere 1 seat.

    The predictions for the assembly elections of 2024 are yet awaited.

    The Election Commission of India conducted simultaneous elections for 147 Assembly seats and 21 Lok Sabha constituencies in Odisha in four phases: May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1.

    Odisha experienced a triangular poll battle among the BJD, BJP, and Congress. The BJP and BJD, former allies from 1998 to 2009, fought three Lok Sabha and two state elections together.

    The results for the 2024 Odisha Lok Sabha Elections will be announced on 4 June (Tuesday).

    Bhuvan Krishna is Staff Writer at Swarajya.

    Get Swarajya in your inbox.