News Brief

Rajasthan Election Spotlight: 10 Key Seats With Veteran Congress Leaders And BJP MPs To Watch On Counting Day

Nishtha Anushree

Dec 03, 2023, 07:50 AM | Updated 07:50 AM IST

Rajasthan counting day
Rajasthan counting day

The Congress is working diligently to break the cycle of alternating power with the BJP in Rajasthan. While the BJP expresses confidence in winning the state elections, the Congress is leaving no stone unturned to maintain its grip on power.

This has led to intense battles and strong claims for voter support in several constituencies. Here are details on 10 constituencies in Rajasthan where the competition has escalated:

  1. Lachhmangarh: In this Sikar district constituency, Govind Singh Dotasra, the prominent Congress leader and state president, faces off against former Union minister Subhash Maharia of the BJP. Dotasra had previously defeated Maharia in the 2013 assembly polls.

  2. Sawai Madhopur: This constituency witnesses a three-cornered fight with sitting Rajya Sabha MP Kirodi Lal Meena representing the BJP, Asha Meena as an independent, and Congress's sitting MLA Danish Abrar. Meena was the BJP candidate in 2018 but lost to Abrar.

  3. Nathdwara: Vishvaraj Singh Mewar, a descendant of Maharana Pratap, contests his maiden election against Congress veteran CP Joshi. Joshi, the sitting MLA, relies on his track record and the Congress's development works, while Mewar emphasises his royal lineage and BJP's popularity.

  4. Jhotwara: Olympic medallist Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, a two-term BJP MP, faces a challenge from Congress candidate Abhishek Choudhary, the state president of NSUI, particularly with a large number of first-time voters in the constituency.

  5. Hawa Mahal: Congress replaces its sitting MLA Mahesh Joshi with Jaipur city president RR Tiwari, while the BJP fields Balmukund Acharya, a Hindu religious leader. The constituency has significance as an indicator of political transitions.

  6. Khinvsar: Hanuman Beniwal, a popular Jat leader, contests from Khinvsar, facing competition from Congress's Tejpal Mirdha and BJP's Revant Ram Danga. Beniwal's victory is crucial for his Rashtriya Loktantrik Party's (RLP) future.

  7. Civil Lines: Congress's Pratap Singh Khachariyawas, a cabinet minister, contends with BJP's Gopal Sharma in a direct contest. Khachariyawas has a stronghold but faces opposition from certain residents due to his rivalry with Munesh Gurjar.

  8. Tijara: The BJP fields Baba Balaknath, a religious figure, against Congress's Imran Khan in a communally charged campaign. Caste equations and Khan's influence on the Muslim community are crucial factors in this contest.

  9. Tonk: Sitting MLA Sachin Pilot of Congress, a former deputy chief minister, looks poised for an easy victory against BJP's Ajit Singh Mehta. Pilot's popularity and charisma remain strong in this constituency dominated by Muslims, Gujjars, and SC communities.

  10. Nagaur: Former Congress MP Jyoti Mirdha, now with the BJP, faces her uncle Harendra Mirdha of Congress in this jat-dominated constituency. The RLP's influence adds a triangular dimension to the contest.

These constituencies reflect the dynamic political landscape in Rajasthan, with factors such as caste dynamics, historical significance, and individual candidate profiles playing pivotal roles in shaping electoral outcomes.

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.