Uttar Pradesh’s 594 Km Long Upcoming Ganga Expressway Receives Rs 5,100 Crore Loan From Punjab National Bank

by India Infrahub - Aug 23, 2021 12:17 PM +05:30 IST
Uttar Pradesh’s 594 Km Long Upcoming Ganga Expressway Receives Rs 5,100 Crore Loan From Punjab National BankUnion Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and UP CM Yogi Adityanath at the event to mark handing over of Loan Sanction Letter of Rs 5100 cr for implementation of Ganga Expressway (@nsitharamanoffc/Twitter)

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath led Uttar Pradesh (UP) government on Saturday (21 August) received the sanction letter of Rs 5,100 crore loan for the Ganga Expressway project from the Punjab National Bank (PNB).

The state government will use this amount for the Ganga Expressway, which will connect Meerut in west UP to Prayagraj in the eastern part of the state.

TheRs 5100 crore loan, under the securitisation process, will be repaid to the bank within 15 years from the toll to be received on the Agra-Lucknow Expressway. During this period of loan repayment, the expressway would continue to be owned and operated by UPEIDA.

According to the UP government, this is the first innovative attempt to monetize public infrastructure assets in the state and the whole of northern India.

The Ganga Expressway will be owned and operated during the loan period by Uttar Pradesh Expressways Industrial Development Authority (UPEIDA), reports Hindustan Times.

Speaking at the event, Union finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman said, “I am very proud of chief minister Yogi Adityanath who understands the larger national interest, translates that into the state’s policies and takes it at the execution level to the last mile.”

“That which had to be done in six decades is being attempted to be completed within four-five years. It requires extraordinary commitment and efforts, and that is what the CM is doing. Pleasantly happy that a public sector bank has gone thinking forward,” Sitharaman said while hailing the infrastructure works going on in Uttar Pradesh.

The proposed Ganga Expressway will be around 594 km long, a 6-lane wide (expandable to eight lanes) greenfield expressway. The expressway will pass through 12 districts of Uttar Pradesh, namely (from west to east) Meerut, Hapur, Bulandshahar, Amroha, Sambhal, Badaun, Shahjahanpur, Hardoi, Unnao, Rai Bareli, Pratapgarh, and Prayagraj.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.