Assembly Elections 2023: Voting Begins For Single Phase Election In Mizoram, 20 Seats In Chhattisgarh

Swarajya Staff

Nov 07, 2023, 08:26 AM | Updated 08:26 AM IST

Election Voting Machine
Election Voting Machine

The assembly elections commenced on Tuesday (7 November), marking the beginning of a month-long electoral process.

Chhattisgarh and Mizoram are the first states where voting is being held today.

In Chhattisgarh, the first phase of voting is underway, with over 220 candidates in fray for 20 seats of the 90-member state assembly.

Meanwhile in Mizoram, the polling is underway for all the 40 seats in the state legislative assembly.

In Chhattisgarh, the electoral battle is primarily between the incumbent Congress party and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The Congress is aiming to secure a consecutive term in office, yet the party faces challenges due to recent allegations of corruption against Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel concerning the Mahadev Book App, which have embroiled the state government in controversy.

The BJP seeks to leverage this situation to undermine the Congress's re-election prospects.

Notable candidates in the fray in Chhattisgarh include former Chief Minister and BJP leader Raman Singh, and Congress state unit chief and MP Deepak Baij.

In Mizoram, the political scene is more varied, featuring the Mizo National Front (MNF), Zoram Peoples' Movement (ZPM), and the Congress as the main competitors.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is also contesting on 23 constituencies, whereas the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has entered the fray with candidates in four seats.

In Mizoram, MNF leader and current Chief Minister Zoramthanga, ZPM founder Lalduhoma, and state Congress chief Lalsawta are among the key contestants.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.