Here Are The 8 Seats On Which BJP Is Leading In Telangana

S Rajesh

Jun 04, 2024, 02:51 PM | Updated 02:51 PM IST

Telangana 2024 Election Results
Telangana 2024 Election Results

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is likely to double its count in the state from 2019 when it won four seats. At the moment of writing this article, the party is leading in 8 seats (as per data from the Election Commission of India website).

Here’s a look at these seats.


Adilabad, the northernmost Lok Sabha constituency in the state, is reserved for Scheduled Tribes. It was won by Soyam Bapu Rao of the BJP in 2019. 

This time, the party has fielded G Nagesh instead of Rao. The Congress’ candidate is Atram Suguna, a social activist. Atram Sakku, the BRS candidate is a former MLA.


This seat was at the centre of attention in 2019 when a large number of turmeric farmers decided to enter the poll fray against the daughter of K Kavitha. This seat was then won by Arvind Dharmapuri of the BJP. He has been fielded again by the party. 


It is the seat of Bandi Sanjay, a former state president of the BJP, known for his firebrand speeches and criticism of former Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao (KCR). Sanjay had won the seat in 2019.


It is a prestigious constituency, given that former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi has won from here. KCR’s assembly constituency, Gajwel is part of this Lok Sabha seat. The BJP has fielded M Raghunandan Rao, who created history in 2020, by defeating the BRS (then TRS) in a bypoll to the Dubbaka Assembly constituency, which is also a part of this Lok Sabha constituency. Rao had finished third in the 2019 elections from Medak. The seat was won by the BRS candidate, Kotha Prabhakar Reddy.


The BJP has appointed Eatala Rajender, an influential leader and former finance and health minister in the BRS government. The seat covers a number of areas in Hyderabad city. In 2019, the seat was won by Revanth Reddy, who is now the chief minister of Telangana.


Located just next to Hyderabad and also comprising some areas of the city — this seat is being led by Konda Vishweshwar Reddy. Vishweshwar Reddy was earlier with the BRS and the Congress.


The BJP has fielded D K Aruna, who was earlier with the Congress and has been a minister in Y S Rajasekhar Reddy’s government. 

The lead also assumes significance as it is where Revanth Reddy’s assembly constituency of Kodangal lies. Further, in a recent election to the Legislative Council of the state from Mahabubnagar district, the BRS candidate won.

S Rajesh is Staff Writer at Swarajya.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.