Maharashtra 2024 Exit Polls: NDA Could Win Up To 32 Seats, INDI Alliance Projected To Improve Tally

Swarajya Staff

Jun 01, 2024, 09:09 PM | Updated 09:33 PM IST

Maharashtra went to polls in five phases of the recently concluded general elections in the country.
Maharashtra went to polls in five phases of the recently concluded general elections in the country.

Exit polls for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections suggest a reduction in the seat tally for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Maharashtra.

As per figures predicted by India Today-My Axis, while the NDA is supposed to win Lok Sabha seats ranging from 28-32, Congress-led INDI-Alliance candidates are expected to emerge victorious on the seats ranging from 16-20.

In terms of the party specific predictions, in the ruling NDA, BJP is supposed to win seats in the range of 20-22, Shinde-led Shiv Sena predicted to win seats in the range of 8-10 and Ajit Pawar-led NCP is expected to win either 1 or 2 seats.

From the INDI-Alliance, Congress is predicted to win seats in the range of 3-4, Shiv Sena (Uddhav Balasaheb Thackeray) is expected to win seats ranging from 9 to 11 and NCP (Sharadchandra Pawar) is set to win either 3 or a maximum of 5 seats.

As per the pre-poll seat sharing agreement among the constituents of both major coalitions, in the ruling NDA coalition- BJP had contested on 28 seats, Shiv Sena led by Eknath Shinde on 15 seats, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) led by Ajit Pawar on 4 seats and Rashtriya Samaj Paksha on 1 seat.

Among the INDI-Alliance constituents, Congress had contested on 17 seats, Shiv Sena (UBT) on 21 seats and NCP (SP) on 10 seats. 

The Axis My India exit poll also forecasts vote shares, with the BJP likely to receive 46-48 per cent, the SP 16-18 per cent, the BSP 11-14 per cent, and the Congress 5-8 per cent.

Meanwhile, predictions by the ABP C-Voter for the Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra suggest 24 seats for the BJP-led NDA and 23 seats for the Congress-led INDI-Alliance. 

As per the polling surveyor, among the NDA constituents, BJP is expected to win 17 seats, Shinde-led Shiv Sena on 6 seats and Ajit Pawar-led NCP predicted to sit only 1 seat. In the INDI-Alliance ranks, Congress is predicted to win on 8 seats, SS (UBT) set to emerge victorious on 9 seats and NCP (SP) expected to win 6 seats.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, NDA comprising the BJP and the erstwhile undivided Shiv Sena had managed a repeat of its 2014 performance, securing 42 seats. Party-wise, while the BJP had won 23 seats, the undivided Shiv Sena of the past had won 18 seats. 

On the other hand, the Congress-led coalition of parties, then known as United Progressive Alliance (UPA), comprising Congress and the erstwhile undivided NCP, had won 5 seats. Party-wise, while Congress won its lone seat- Chandrapur, NCP had won four seats.

Elections for the 48 Lok Sabha seats were held in five phases, from April 19 in the first phase to May 20 in the fifth phase. The state sends the second highest number of representatives to the Lok Sabha after Uttar Pradesh which comprises 80 Lok Sabha seats.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.