UP Assembly Polls 2022: Voting Underway On 58 Assembly Seats In First Phase Of Elections

Swarajya Staff

Feb 10, 2022, 09:22 AM | Updated 09:22 AM IST

UP Assembly elections
UP Assembly elections

The polling for the first phase of the Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh began on Thursday (10 February) with people coming out to vote in 58 Assembly seats spread across 11 districts in the Western UP.

The polling started at 7.00 AM and will continue till 6.00 PM, officials of the state election commission said.

Campaigning in the constituencies going to vote in the first round of the seven-phase election in the politically crucial state ended on Tuesday evening.

The state ministers whose fate would be decided in the first phase include Shrikant Sharma, Suresh Rana, Sandeep Singh, Kapil Dev Agarwal, Atul Garg and Chowdhury Lakshmi Narain.

As many as 623 candidates, including 73 women are in the fray in the first phase and around 2.28 core voters, including 1.24 crore men and 1.04 crore women are eligible to caste their francise, election officials said.

The canvassing for the first phase remained confined to the virtual medium due to a ban on road shows and physical rallies in the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic.

(With inputs from PTI)

Get Swarajya in your inbox.