After 10 Years Of 10 Rupee Coin, New Coins Worth Rs 1,2,5 and 20 To Be Introduced Soon: FM Nirmala Sitharaman

Indian currency in coins (Pradeep Gaur/Mint via Getty images)

New coins of one, two, five, 10 and 20 Rupees will be released soon, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman has announced today, while presenting the union budget in the Parliament, reports NDTV.

“These new coins will be made available for public use shortly," Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman said about the coins unveiled by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in March this year, adding that the coins are easily identifiable by the visually-impaired.

The 20-rupee coin will have the shape of a 12-edged polygon and will be made by copper, zinc and nickel. All the new coins will have the Ashoka Pillar with 'Satyameva Jayate' inscribed below, flanked by the words "'Bharat" and "India".The new coins are being released almost 10 years after the Rs. 10 coin was introduced.


Be a Partner, Reader.
Support a media platform that will bring you ground reports that other platforms will try every bit to avoid.
Partner with us, be a patron. Your backing is important to us.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber