Champions For 20 Years Running: India Wins Fifth Consecutive Gold In Women’s 4x400 Metre Relay At Asian Games India’s medal winning relay team (@rahuldpawar/Twitter)

India’s women athletes scripted history on Thursday (30 August) after winning the Women’s 4x400 metre relay event for the fifth consecutive time in a row to effectively become the Asian rulers of the event for 20 years running.

The event came in the immediate backdrop of Jinson Johnson’s gold medal winning run at the 1500 metre men’s event.

For the most part of the event, Johnson was at the second and third position. But he dramatically picked up the pace in the final stretch of the race to finish with an excellent time of 3.44.72, more than a second ahead of the silver medallist.

There was barely any drama involved in the relay after India completely bossed it from start to finish. Sprinter Hima Das gave India a commanding lead after the first leg, which was then carried forward by the three other sprinters - Poovamma Machettria, Saritaben Gayakwad and Vismaya Koroth.

India thus finished the race in 3.28.72, comfortably above Bahrain’s time of 3.20.61.

India later also tasted success in the men’s 4x400 metre relay after winning the silver medal. The nation currently stands eighth in the medal tally with 13 golds, 21 silvers and 25 bronze medals.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber