‘Delhi Govt Protecting Tukde Tukde Gang’: Amit Shah Slams AAP For Halting Their Prosecution

Swarajya Staff

Jan 06, 2020, 05:59 PM | Updated 05:59 PM IST

Union Home Minister Amit Shah
Union Home Minister Amit Shah

Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday (6 January) launched an attack on Delhi Chief Minister (CM) Arvind Kejriwal accusing him of protecting the “tukde tukde gang that raised anti-India slogans” inside Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) campus in 2015.

“Delhi government wants to save tukde tukde gang. Students who raised anti-India slogans should be put behind the bars or not? But Kejriwal (Delhi CM) is not giving sanction to Police to prosecute them,” said the Home Minister, while accusing Delhi government of shielding former Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union leader Kanhaiya Kumar and others in the sedition case.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) national president also alleged that the Congress and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) were misleading people, specially minorities in the country over the Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA), according to a report by India Today.

He also held them responsible for the recent violent clashes between protesters and security forces across the country.

He said, “AAP and Congress, especially Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi are misleading the minorities of the country. Nobody's citizenship will be revoked under CAA, it is an act to give citizenship. These parties are responsible for the riots which broke out.”

The BJP is leaving no stones unturned to come back to power in the national capital where it is out in the cold for nearly two decades. The party has begun its campaign for the assembly polls which are going to be held on 8 February, as announced by the Election Commission on Monday. The counting of votes will be done on 11 February.

The model code of conduct comes into effect immediately, said the Election Commission. The date of notification is 14 January, while 21 January will be the last date for filing nominations.

There are a total of 70 seats in Delhi out of which ruling AAO won 67 last time in 2015.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.