Watch: A Walk Through Of The National War Memorial 
Watch: A Walk Through Of The National War Memorial Prime Minister Narendra Modi (Sonu Mehta/Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The National war memorial, spread over 40 acres of land will be dedicated to the nation by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, reports The Times of India.

The memorial is a tribute to Indian Soldiers who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty, with the names of 25,942 martyrs etched in stone forever.

The main structure is being built in the form of four chakra, where each exemplifies the value of armed forces with the eternal flame and obelisk located in the inner-most chakra, also known as Amar Chakra.

Standing at a height of 15.1m, the obelisk would be visible from quite a distance as one enters the memorial complex. It is surrounded by Veer Chakra with six bronze murals, were each mural weighs between 600 kg and 1,000 kg. Moreover, the Tyag chakra which surrounds it has been made entirely of granite bricks, each bearing the name of the fallen soldier since independence.

The final chakra, Rakshak chakra, surrounds the other three and consists of almost 600 trees that would act as a wall and represent the soldier who protect the country.

The memorial would also serve as a venue for future ceremonies of the armed forces. Civilian public could also pay their homage to the martyrs through the interactive electronic panels, that would reportedly be set up soon.

A tribute to the 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees, with each recipient honoured by a bronze bust surrounded by a lush green patch, with pathways and informative plaques.

The entry to the memorial is free for all with time restrictions at the main area and Param Yodha Sthal.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber