News Brief

BJP Makes Lok Sabha Debut From Kerala, Suresh Gopi Wins In Thrissur, Congress Is Third In Constituency

Nishtha Anushree

Jun 04, 2024, 05:43 PM | Updated 05:43 PM IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to Thrissur.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to Thrissur.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won its first Lok Sabha seat in Kerala as Suresh Gopi secured victory from the Thrissur constituency by a margin of around 75,000 votes.

Famous Malayalam film actor Suresh Gopi took on K Muraleedharan of the Congress and V S Sunil Kumar of the CPI here. Congress came third in the constituency.

Considerable unhappiness with the Left in the constituency due to the Karuvannur cooperative bank scam might have helped the BJP. 

Nishtha Anushree is Senior Sub-editor at Swarajya. She tweets at @nishthaanushree.

Get Swarajya in your inbox.