Discontent Within Congress Over Rajya Sabha Nominations

Discontent Within Congress Over Rajya Sabha Nominations

by Swarajya Staff - May 31, 2022 05:29 PM +05:30 IST
Discontent Within Congress Over Rajya Sabha NominationsSonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi during a meeting of All India Congress Committee in New Delhi. (Naveen Jora/India Today Group/GettyImages) 
  • There has been a public display of discontent among Congress leaders after the party released the list of candidates for the Rajya Sabha polls.

On 29 May, Congress released the list of 10 candidates from eight states for the Rajya Sabha polls due on 10 June. Since then, there has been a public display of discontent among the party leaders who have not found a place in the nominations.

Pawan Khera, Nagma, Acharya Pramod Krishnam expressed their displeasure on Twitter. General secretary of the Mahila Congress, Nagma, asked Congress president Sonia Gandhi if she was less deserving than Imran Prapthagiri from Uttar Pradesh, who has been accommodated from Maharashtra.

Milind Deora, too, sent out a cryptic tweet, indicating something amiss within the Congress camp. The party workers from Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh are upset that not a single name from the respective states was chosen for nominations. All the nominations have gone to Gandhi family loyalists.

Randeep Singh Surjewala, who hails from Haryana, has been nominated from Rajasthan. Mukul Wasnik from Maharashtra and Pramod Tiwari from UP, too, have been made candidates from Rajasthan. Sanyam Lodha, Rajasthan MLA, tweeted that Congress leadership must explain why nobody from Rajasthan state leadership has found a place in its list.

The party in Jharkhand has faced another shock, this time from its alliance partner, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM). The state leaders allege that Jharkhand Chief Minister and JMM leader, Hemant Soren announced nomination from the state unilaterally. As per reports, he had a discussion with the Congress president on the nomination. The party workers, however, are in a state of disbelief. According to them, JMM leader did not adhere to ‘coalition dharma’ and went with his own candidate, senior leader Mahua Maji.

Congress veterans such as Anand Sharma, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Manish Tewari, too, have been left out, while P Chidambaram has secured his name from Tamil Nadu. His son, Karti Chidambaram, is already a Lok Sabha MP on a Congress ticket. A few days back, former Congress Minister Kapil Sibal resigned from the party and secured a Rajya Sabha nomination with the help of Samajwadi Party.

Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

An Appeal...

Dear Reader,

As you are no doubt aware, Swarajya is a media product that is directly dependent on support from its readers in the form of subscriptions. We do not have the muscle and backing of a large media conglomerate nor are we playing for the large advertisement sweep-stake.

Our business model is you and your subscription. And in challenging times like these, we need your support now more than ever.

We deliver over 10 - 15 high quality articles with expert insights and views. From 7AM in the morning to 10PM late night we operate to ensure you, the reader, get to see what is just right.

Becoming a Patron or a subscriber for as little as Rs 1200/year is the best way you can support our efforts.

Become A Patron
Become A Subscriber
Comments ↓
Get Swarajya in your inbox everyday. Subscribe here.

Latest Articles

    Artboard 4Created with Sketch.